My Very First Quilt

After my little girl was born in 2009, I wanted to make something girly for her. I always admired quilting but thought it was WAY too hard for me, I didn’t even know where to get started. I came across Oh Fransson and she had a great step by step tutorial on getting started. I found a quilt I liked over at Retromummy and decided to give it a shot. I had NO idea the quilt I was making was a twin size quilt. šŸ™‚ I just saw it and liked it and started cutting. After I pieced the first row I realized I had bitten off quite a big hunk for my first quilt!! It all turned out ok though and by the end of it, I had free-hand quilting down pretty well. šŸ™‚

See? It doesn’t look that big does it?

Photobucket

Photobucket

And RIGHT behind that was my second quilt:

Photobucket

Maybe I had a bit of a thing for Amy Butler fabrics. šŸ™‚ I really need to post a picture of that finished quilt. It’s backed with a minky rip off and straight line quilted, my daughter sleeps under it every night. I LOVE that quilt. Probably my favorite so far.

the second one was CONSIDERABLY better, especially the corners. Again, the Oh Fransson tutorials are awesome. That pattern is here.

This entry was posted in Amy Butler, Baby, Charm Squares. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

