[47]

47 by auburn2001grad
47, a photo by auburn2001grad on Flickr.

Via Flickr:
This was my first attempt at Y-seams with paper piecing, as long as I was careful about where I stopped stitching it wasn’t too bad. The right hand corner of the apple isn’t perfect but no quilt is perfect so I’ll take it. πŸ™‚ I wasn’t sure I’d be able to use up this apple print, it’s not quite my style, but I think it’s cute in this block.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to [47]

  1. Jamie Lee says:

    I really like the apple fabric…it is definitely to my taste. I also really like your Christmas pinwheel quilt. I think pinwheels are my favorite quilt of all. I read your comment on the FWS. I am not totally new to quilting, but since I have 3 kids ages 5 and under, I don’t get as much time/practice at my sewing machine as I wish I did. I was planning to rotary cut my pieces and machine sew them, but after reading what you wrote, now I’m not so sure. I signed up for a block swap a couple months ago to get some practice piecing since I mostly do strip/charm type quilts, and the ones that involve lots of triangle piecing are a real pain in the patootie and rarely turn out well the first, second, or even third time! And those blocks are 12.5 inches! Not sure what I am going to do now…

    • neelloc13 says:

      I just didn’t see myself using the templates. I tried the rotary method and my first block was a perfect 6.5. The next block was fine, but the third one was 6.75!! And I was really careful with that one. Then I did a paper pieced one and somehow it was 6… I don’t know what I”m doing wrong. πŸ™‚ How can it be 6 inches if I’m foundation paper piecing?? The apple one is 6.5. I’m going to split the difference and sew a 1/8 seam on the 6 inch ones and a 1/4 seam on the 6.5 and hope they all turn out ok. πŸ™‚ There’s no way I’m making 47 again!!

  2. Jamie Lee says:

    PS. I love the photo at the top of your blog. It reminds me of Anne of Green Gables.,

Leave a Reply

